News Details

Duarte General Municipal Election Update

The City of Duarte is awaiting the results of the election for the District 3 seat on the Duarte City Council. All votes are processed through the L.A. County Registrar‐Recorder/County Clerk. The City does not have any advanced knowledge of final election results or data on percentage of voter turnout. The most updated election results can be viewed at the L.A. County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk website: 

The County has a specific number of days (30), in accordance with the Election Code (§15372), to finalize the official election results. 

The winning candidate will be the candidate with the most votes as indicated on the official final election results.

Only one candidate, Economic Development Commissioner Vinh Truong, filed for the seat being vacated by Councilmember John Fasana in District 2, and in District 7, Councilmember Toney Lewis was the only qualified candidate who filed for the seat. Per the State Elections Code, City Council chose to appoint Truong and Lewis to four-year terms at a special meeting held on August 18.

The three elected and appointed Duarte City Councilmembers will be sworn into office at the December 8th City Council meeting. Please continue to check the City website for additional details.